

1965-66--First President G.T Owen, Jr.\* (Baton Rouge)

1966-67--Sidney E. Cook (Shreveport)

1967-68--Breard Snellings\* (Monroe)

1968-69--Bob Vandaworker\* (Baton Rouge)

1969-70--Dick Christovich\* (New Orleans)

1970-71--R.W. Farrar, Jr. (Shreveport)

1971-72--Charley Franklin\* (Baton Rouge)

1972-73--Curtis Boisfontaine\* (New Orleans)

1973-74--Howard Gist\* (Alexandria)

1974-75--Martin Hunley\* (New Orleans)

1975-76--J. W. Jones (Shreveport)

1976-77--Frank Middleton\* (Baton Rouge) LADC newsletter is expanded to include updates on substantive law

1977-78--Steve Victory\* (New Orleans)

1978-79--Frank Foster\* (New Orleans)

1979-80--Smitty Landry\* (New Iberia)

1980-81--Don Collins (New Orleans) Professor Frank Maraist hired as first executive director

1981-82--Grove (Red) Stafford\*(Alexandria) LADC began to grow by 15-20 new members per month, annual meeting in Bermuda

1982-83--Haynes Harkey\* (Monroe) Peter McLean and Marge Bross came on board as the travel agents of the LADC, annual meeting in Montreal

1983-84--Dan Atkinson (Baton Rouge) Membership reached the magic 1,000 figure, mid-winter meeting in Houston, inaugural Attorney-Client Seminar, annual meeting in San Diego

1984-85--Rene Curry (New Orleans) LADC Trial Academy established, first ski trip to Keystone, annual meeting in Florence and Rome

1985-86--Jack Carlisle (Shreveport) ski trip moved to Beaver Creek (its current home), first LADC Trial Academy held, annual meeting in Palm Springs

1986-87--Jesse Adams (New Orleans) annual meeting in Hawaii

1987-88--Allen Smith\* (Lake Charles) Louisiana institutes mandatory continuing legal education, LADC begins offering numerous CLE programs, LADC establishes law school scholarships at four law schools in state, fall meeting in Natchez, annual meeting in Vancouver and Victoria

1988-89--Gordon Johnson (Metairie) expansion of CLE offerings, annual meeting in London

1989-90--John White (Baton Rouge) publication of revised jury charges, annual meeting in Charleston after Hurricane Hugo hit that city

1990-91--Charles Schmidt (New Orleans) fall meeting at Windsor Court, annual meeting at Pebble Beach

1991-92--Herschel Richard (Shreveport) changes in LADC districts and board of directors, doubled law school scholarships (two at each of the four schools), fall meeting in Vermont, annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

1992-93--Paul Andersson (New Orleans) LADC's membership reached 1,600, fall meeting in Santa Fe, annual meeting in Munich and Vienna

1993-94--Pat Juneau (Lafayette) mid-winter meeting in Vermont, annual meeting in San Francisco

1994-95--Richard Edrington (LaPlace) annual meeting in Dublin and Shannon

1995-96--Alston Johnson (Baton Rouge) Marge Bross retires leaving LADC travel in capable hands of Peter McLean, fall meeting in Santa Fe, annual meeting in Bermuda

1996-97—Fritz Bott\* (New Orleans) annual Defense Lawyers Seminar moved from spring to December, fall meeting in Deer Valley, Utah, annual meeting in Madrid and Seville

1997-98--Hank Bruser (Alexandria) LADC was awarded the Rudolph A. Janata award by DRI as outstanding state defense organization, fall meeting in Boston, annual meeting in Florence and Venice

1998-99--Jimmy Holmes (New Orleans) established Frank L. Maraist professorship at LSU Law Center, fall meeting in Jackson Hole, annual meeting in Edinburgh, Scotland

1999-2000--Cliffe Laborde (Lafayette) board of directors was doubled to 22, fall meeting in Cancun, annual meeting in Paris

2000-01--Jim Irwin (New Orleans) Bill Corbett named co-executive director, Skip Philips named inaugural legislative vice president, joint meeting with TADC in Houston, fall meeting in Sedona, Arizona, annual meeting in Napa Valley and San Francisco

2001-02--Shelby McKenzie (Baton Rouge) fall meeting in Maine a week after 9/11, annual meeting in Vancouver and Victoria

2002-03--Jerry Weigel\* (New Orleans) Bill Corbett became executive director, joint meeting with TADC in San Antonio, annual meeting in Portugal

2003-04--Tom Davenport\* (Monroe) publication of 40th anniversary magazine, fall meeting in Cancun, 40th annual meeting in Washington and Williamsburg with Pentagon tour arranged by General Skip Philips

2004-05--Adrianne Landry Baumgartner (Covington) LADC's first female president and first "legacy" president-- her father, Smitty Landry, was president of the LADC in 1979-80, LADC listserve became operational, Finance and Investment Committee implements investment plan, fall meeting in Chicago, annual meeting in Rome and Sorrento

2005-06--George "Hooty" Robinson (Lafayette) LADC regroups and reaches out to members after Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, Defense Lawyers Seminar at Windsor Court canceled due to hurricane, LADC assists with Katrina-related legislation, LADC bylaws revised, annual meeting Maui

2006-07—Phil Lorio (New Orleans) Finance and Investment Committee implements diversified investment strategy, annual meeting Prague and Vienna

2007-08—John Perry (Baton Rouge) Skip Philips steps down after 3 terms as legislative vice president, annual meeting Torrey Pines, San Diego

2008-09—Chris Lawler (Metairie) Dane Ciolino hired as associate executive director, annual meeting in Hawaii

2009-10—Drake Lee (Shreveport) annual Attorney-Client Seminar renamed Sizzlin' Summer Seminar and date moved to later in August, 25th anniversary of the LADC Trial Academy, Ethics and Professionalism Committee formed, annual meeting in Buenos Aires

2010-2011—Ron Sholes (New Orleans) first strategic planning meeting, launch of Associate Skills Set Seminars for young lawyers, annual meeting in Lyon and Nice, France

2011-2013—Ben Mayeaux (Lafayette) inaugural new directors' orientation, membership drive, Past Presidents' Advisory Committee formed, LADC budgeting process developed, annual meeting in Costa Rica

2012-13—Tom Buck (New Orleans) planning begins for 50th anniversary, revision of finance and investment plan, annual meeting in Barcelona, ski trip Beaver Creek

2013-14—Skip Philips (Baton Rouge) 50th anniversary celebration at Roosevelt Hotel, annual meeting in Salzburg, ski trip Beaver Creek

2014-15—Marta Schnabel (New Orleans) Hired Kimberly Zibilich with Event Resources New Orleans, annual meeting in Montreal and Quebec City, ski trip the Canyons, Utah

2015-16—Bobby Gilliam (Shreveport) Annual trip San Francisco and Napa, Young Lawyers Awards Dinner initiated, ski trip Telluride

2016-17—Phelps Gay (New Orleans) Annual trip, Charleston SC, ski trip Telluride, Amicus Brief Committee rejuvenated, Research and Policy Committee formed with Skip Philips as first chair of the committee

2017-18—Ralph Kraft (Lafayette) Annual trip Seattle, ski trip Steamboat, Young Lawyers Committee representative added to Executive Committee

2018-19-Mickey deLaup (Metairie) Annual trip Santa Fe, NM, ski trip Steamboat Springs CO

2019-20—Victor Gregoire (Baton Rouge) Ski trip Crested Butte with TADC and ADLA, Statewide tour "Reconnecting with Your LADC," annual meeting in Atlantis canceled due to worldwide pandemic, LADC enters contract with consultant to track and report on proposed legislation of interest to organization

2020-21—Dean Sutherland (New Orleans), LADC enters the world of online CLE presenting webinars during the pandemic, all in-person meetings except Dec. meeting with Judicial College canceled, council of past LADC presidents rejuvenated

(\*) indicates Deceased